Destination Fiction

Margaret Coel
Wind River Reservation
Father John O’Malley and Vicky Holden are characters I’ve followed for awhile now.  The Wind River Reservation stories take place in Wyoming.  Tight storytelling.  Place takes a character all to itself.  I’ve turned on several Scranton Library members to this series and last week someone came in and thanked me for talking Margaret Coel up.  He said if it hadn’t been for me he would never have known about the author.

See?  That’s what gives this job meaning for me.  That’s what drives me.  That’s what brings me so much joy.  When someone comes back to me after a first recommendation and tells me how much they enjoyed my opinion.  I’ve made another person happy and now they trust me enough to offer more opinions.  I know what my readers like and I steer them in the right direction.  Every once in awhile I like to take someone outside their comfort zone.  If they are a mystery fan and that’s all they read I like to stir the pot a little and offer them something else.  How about a bit of magic realism ala Alice Hoffman?  What I’m doing here is turning them onto my favorite genre which is strict fantasy but I’m approaching them carefully.  I will start out out with someone who dabbles in fantasy, then move them further down the road.

John Sanford
(The Prey Series)
John Sandford, author of Lucas Davenport’s “Prey” series has many books in the Davenport Catalog.  Of all the books he has written my two favorites are:
–Certain Prey (The 1st w/female serial killer Clara Rinker)
–Mortal Prey (the 2nd and concluding Chapter of Rinker.)Mortal Prey has the 2nd best ending of a Prey book.

My favorite ending was the 1st in the entire series:
Rules of Prey.

You MUST MUST MUST read this series in order as there is HUGE character development of Lucas throughout.  Mortal Prey in my opinion was the last best book in the series.

Minnesota in the winters can be brutal, especially if you are police detective Lucas Davenport.  Lucas is probably one of all time favorite fictional detectives as he has been so finely developed through this entire series.  It is extremely extremely important to start this series with the first book and read each book in succession only because with each book more layers are built on from the last book.  Lucas develops a history and what an amazing character he develops into.  Because of his development throughout the series, he has become like a cherished friend.  I can’t recommend this series highly enough; and the wonderful part is that there are so many in the series that it will take you a bit if time to get through.  The first thirteen are my favorites:
1. Rules of Prey (1989)
2. Shadow Prey (1990)
3. Eyes of Prey (1991)
4. Silent Prey (1992)
5. Winter Prey (1993)
6. Night Prey (1994)
7. Mind Prey (1995)
8. Sudden Prey (1996)
9. Secret Prey (1998)
10. Certain Prey (1999)
11. Easy Prey (2000)
12. Chosen Prey (2001)
13. Mortal Prey (2002)

You won’t be disappointed if you start.  I believe the last best book in the series is Mortal Prey.  After that I attempted two or three others and was never as excited about the series.  I’ve only listed the first thirteen in the collection because these are the books that I like the most.  My concept for this blog is to only recommend books that I resonate with.  I never want to steer someone down a wrong path.  It’s up to you, my fellow readers whether to continue reading after you’ve reached number 13.

Until next time…
…Turn the page.


Destination Fiction

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top